Could you consider failure as experience? Well, Thanos don’t and Loki “died” for that but in real life, I think failures are important. failure is an obstacle you have to pass in order to find your ultimate path.

I have been failed many times like exams, relationships, entrepreneurship and more. But then I learn from my mistake and try not to repeat it again. Of course, I am just human and we tend to mess up, but its only the part of learning.

In these two last posts, I will try to summarise what I learned from my 10 previous jobs. I hope we mistakes would help someone or at least encourage someone to make more mistakes.

  1. Teaching: teaching I something I always thought as fun, inspiring and rewarding but it’s Yet I learn to perfect my mistake of teaching and learn that everyone has a different speed of grasping. I use technical terms with young people, I use metaphors with old people, and they understand the concept. I learn to tear apart a hard subject and then make it sound so stupid that everyone enjoys it and learn as well. I learn to control myself, my anger and my speed so that the other person would not feel uncomfortable.
  2. Cybercafé: the lamest job of the world sometimes feel challenging because of the circumstances. Dealing with different people every day makes you understand Keeping a distance between your coworker is smart advice, which I learn later in life. Be professional on the job; do not get involved in someone else’s life. Also, if you get free time in your job make it more productive.
  3. Watchman: Never ever fell asleep when your life is in imminent danger. Yes, its kind of scary advice but it worked with me. I have been in a situation where people around me ask me to forget the surroundings and go to sleep. It made me more alert and brave to go out in the unknown and be ready for anything. it was kind of survival training and I learn more about my life than anything else.
  4. Auto shop accountant: keep learning, keep listening, and be sharp all the time. When you deal with money, you need to be on your toes all the time. I had to learn the names and use of thousands of components, which would never be useful again in my life, but I had to learn them. no matter how small the job is, give your 100%. If you work really hard and make your boss impressed, that’s a win for a lifetime. They still remember me after so many years and tell me that you were the best among others who worked there.
  5. Toll booth operator: if you want to work at big companies and you lack the educational background, find any job there and keep working. Pipavav port is one of the biggest port in India and working there, even as a toll booth operator is like a foot in the door. Only if the commuting hours and expenses were low, I would have kept working there. Lots of people started at the bottom and then they succeeded to the top because they keep working at minimum wages. First, you learn the craft and then you create a demand and the company had to hire you for that. Remember this, there is nothing called “small job”, its just first step.

 

These five jobs were some of the most hardworking and tiring jobs I have ever done and yet I feel proud about that. My salary was so low, I couldn’t buy anything for myself. Weather was harsh, my mental state was disturbed, hours were long, I always feel hungry, sleeping less and less and yet I learn something from it.

In my next post, I will talk about what I learn from my other 5 jobs. Those were the hardest time as I was in a new city, with the sole purpose of earning, without any experience of the job and yet I survived.