What will you do if you find your dream job? Will you stick with it till the end of times or maybe a few months into the job you realize, it’s not what you dreamt off? I was really happy when I got a job as an in-house content writer, but there was something waiting for me which I didn’t expect.

The reason I was really excited about this job was, I learn the craft myself and created job opportunity. I didn’t learn anything about that in my study or I never dream about being in this job, let alone someone pay me to write for them.

Everything was going good, my office was a little far away, but I would reach there on time. I need to change two rickshaws for that, but that’s ok. Then they changed the office.  Now I have to go somewhere else where no direct city bus or rickshaw would go.

I never had any problems with the work, I was working 8 or 9 hours a day. I just had a problem with the commute and funny thing was, this office was just 6km away from my place. to reach there, I need to change three rickshaws and for that, I need to get ready 2 hours ahead of my office time.

I have traveled 40km for a job but this commuting really tired me up. Soon I realize, if I take the Ola share, it would cost me 40rs and if take 3 rickshaws, it would cost me 30rs. In the rickshaw, I had to sit near the driver and in Ola share, I would be sitting in AC.

That was a good option, but that mean spending 80rs per day, and that means nearly 2000rs per month just for 6 km of commuting. I was getting paid 12k, and I had to pay 7k to my PG, then 2k for traveling and the rest of the money would go home.

So there was no money left for me to spend. Yes, I get to breakfast, lunch and dinner at PG, I would get tea and occasional snacks at the office, but there is no money left for me to spend. What would be the point of earning, traveling and working 12 hours a day and yet you don’t have any money to spend on yourself.

I ask my boss the raise my salary, but it was just about 3 month in the job and they wouldn’t do that. I was thinking about moving to a PG near my office, but there is no guaranty that they wouldn’t change the office in the next few months. I also thought about getting a new bicycle for traveling, but that means I can’t send home any money that month.

I was really getting worried and I had to eat something better to not get depressed. So I went out, went to the movie, eat pizza and panipuri and came home. I spend 500rs in just one evening and I was happy about that.

When the month end was near, I realize, I don’t have any money left to travel, not in Ola, not in a rickshaw or with any miracle, not in city Bus as well. So I did what I always do, I walked to my office every day.

It would just take 1 hour to 90 minutes to reach there in the summer heat. Then I would walk back to my PG at night and reach home after 9, so the PG kitchen was closed and I couldn’t eat. so I would spend the night drinking water and then wake up at 5 to drink tea and then breakfast.

I really love that job and I don’t want to quite it, but now I was really tired of all those walking and spending night hungry. Finally, after 3 months, I quit that job. I was really sad about it, it was a great learning opportunity, but I would not trade my peace of mind for anything.

Its been almost a year now(10 months) and I am at my home. I don’t want to do any job now so I am doing my freelancing work. I thought if I could stay at home and eat, I would save 9k rupees and I could earn enough money to provide at home. that was the idea and it worked for a while.

Working from home is not an easy task, first, the internet connection in a small town is really bad. I had to work at night because no website would open in the day time. then I thought there would be a peaceful environment, but I didn’t bet on my neighbor’s production rate and now we have more than 10 little kids making noise all day long.

Then there was the taboo or tradition of man doesn’t stay at home. people don’t understand the concept of freelancing, they thought its synonym of freeloading. My mom is now getting tired of this and ask me to take any small job.

Also in a small town, people don’t like a single man. They hate them for many reasons, so what do they do, they constantly tell you to get married. If you say no, then they would think there is something wrong with me.

I had 3 failed relationship and the last one almost killed me. I have seen people getting married and spend the rest of their life miserable; I don’t want to be them. I am happy being single and working from home.

This is was the last job I ever did. Now there are still two alphabets left and I was thinking about turning them to moral of the story. What I learned from all of my job and how it would help me in the future.