Pinakin, remember my name – #ATOZCHALLENGE

Pinakin, its name of the person who is writing this post. Now you must be thinking why he is writing a blog post on his name. Because my friend, every name has a story to tell.


The origin.

When I was born, it was my grandmother who insisted to name me, so she chose the name Pinakin. Actually she thought of naming me “pinakpani” but thank god, she didn’t.

The definition.

The original name “pinakpani” mean one who hold bow name Pinak, it’s actually one of many names of lord shiva, the same bow lord Rama broke in order to marry sitaji. Yes lots of ancient history in it.


Pronunciation

I have been suffering my whole life with it, people find this name amusing but don’t know how to say it, so after many years one of my friend told me, hey your name is like that one of star wars guy, Anakin Skywalker. And I was like yes, finally. So you can say it like Anakin with PI. Pee-na-keen like this, yes it’s weird.

Deliberate misinterpretation

Who wants to make fun of me, doesn’t need to go far away and search reason, my name is enough. Making funny name out of it is so easy then finding my mistake. Few of them make it so vulgar that I can’t even share. Now I just don’t care.


Nicknames

My family and my cousin and my aunties and uncles who is closely related call me “pinu” my few friends too. Most of the teacher call me by my surname. My one ex called me pumpkin cause I also look like one and one special friend call me piku, yes like the movie. One interesting fact, my school friend met me after many years, and he ask me, hey you have put wrong name in your Facebook, I say no it’s Pinakin. So he say no your name is pinatin right? For so many years I thought he maybe has problem speaking my name and he thought it was my actual name.

Remember the name.

Why? Because I believe, in my heart, that one day, every one will know my name. I don’t  know how and when I will be famous, but I know I will. So at that time, you will be like one of few who actually know how to say it.

Because the person who said, what’s in a name? He writes his name below

13 thoughts on “Pinakin, remember my name – #ATOZCHALLENGE

  1. Hi Pinakin, The story about your friend who thought your name was pinatin after many years of friendship is funny. Most people get my first name correct, some have trouble with my last name.
    Emily | My Life In Ecuador | Quick stories – Rare Frog, Heated Toilet, Happy Snake

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well I feel you buddy! Your friends call you piku by love — my name is Pikakshi (pronounce it as Meenakshi, with a P) and Piku is my actual nickname πŸ™‚ I face all the problems that you do. Its a headache, but I have come to terms with the fact that its a difficult name and people just dont make an effort to pronounce it correctly. Those who are my friends and dear ones know how to pronounce it and thats what matters. I have been living away from India for a while now..and foreigners have even bigger trouble dealing with the name! Sigh!!
    But I get to say, Piku was made after me πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    Have a look at this Book Review of 2016’s Bestseller Psycho Thriller.

    Regards,
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I read your name, I feel the same that, she must have face all the problems I had. And that one friend is special, that’s why I tolerate the name piku, cause it’s a girl nameπŸ˜‚, but I always tell me self, one day, everybody will know my name, and know how to say it.so it alright. We have meaning full name that a good thing. May I know what’s meaning of your name?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Pik means koel (the bird) and aakshi means eyes.. so its a combo of Pik+Aakshi which makes Pikakshi..which means eyes like koel πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hey Thanks for stopping by Pinakin πŸ™‚ and your appreciation. Well, koel is known for its voice..I don’t know why my mom decided to go for its eyes πŸ˜€ but she says that because I have koel in my name, I talk all the time..like alll the time πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Beyond the Precipice and commented:
    As someone who can relate to confusion and mispronunciations of names (especially in my youth, when multicultural names were less common), I had to reblog this. Besides, I watched all of House, M.D. and Breaking Bad, and I remember these excerpts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

